POLISCOPE
Back to bills

The civic record

Read. Follow. Verify.
Enacted

Alabama Lowers ReEngage Grant Age to 22 and Expands Degree Eligibility

Original title: Alabama Commission on Higher Education, ReEngage Alabama Grant Program, minimum age of adult learner decreased, eligibility requirements revised.

Last action · March 31, 2026: EnactedSponsor: Terri Collins

Introduced
Committee
Floor Vote
Passed
Law

Track this bill to get notified when it advances a stage. One tap to stop, anytime.

Public stanceCommunity reactions are separate from the official record and reporting.

What This Bill Does

Alabama lowers the minimum age for s in the ReEngage Alabama Grant Program from 25 to 22 and expands eligibility to students pursuing a first baccalaureate degree after a two-year following an associate degree, starting October 1, 2026.

Why it matters

Younger adult students and those returning after earning an associate degree gain access to tuition grants worth up to $3,000 per semester at universities and $1,500 at community colleges.

Who It Affects

Groups the bill's text affects, as described in the record. Being affected is not a position for or against it.

Directly affected

Adult learners aged 22 to 24

Adult learners aged 22 through 24 become newly eligible to participate in the ReEngage Alabama Grant Program and receive tuition grants.

Directly affected

Students pursuing post-associate degrees

Students pursuing their first baccalaureate degree after a two-year stop-out following an associate degree become eligible for grant awards if they have not previously received one.

Directly affected

Approved institutions of higher education

Authorized institutions receive grant award payments directly on behalf of students and must take action to ensure students utilize all other entitled educational benefits.

Key Facts

You don't have to trust us. Each fact below is taken straight from the official document - click any one to see the exact passage, highlighted in the original.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the new minimum age to qualify as an adult learner for the grant?
The minimum age has been lowered from 25 to 22 years old.
What are the maximum grant amounts available per semester?
Eligible full-time students can receive up to $3,000 per semester for universities and up to $1,500 per semester for community colleges.
Are students returning after earning an associate degree eligible for the grant?
Yes, individuals pursuing their first baccalaureate degree following a two-year period after receiving their first associate degree are eligible, provided they have not previously received a grant award.

What else do you want to know?

News Coverage

No news coverage found yet. Articles are indexed twice daily.

Where This Stands

Current status: Became law.

Procedural history

17 actions
  1. Mar 31, 2026HouseEnrolled
    Enacted
  2. Mar 11, 2026HouseEnrolled
    Delivered to Governor
  3. Mar 11, 2026Senate
    Signature Requested
  4. Mar 10, 2026House
    Enrolled
  5. Mar 10, 2026House
    Ready to Enroll
  6. Mar 10, 2026SenateFloor
    Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 786
Show 11 earlier actions
  1. Mar 10, 2026Senate
    Third Reading in Second House
  2. Mar 5, 2026Senate
    Read for the Second Time and placed on the Calendar
  3. Mar 4, 2026SenateCommittee
    Reported Out of Committee Second House
  4. Jan 15, 2026SenateCommittee
    Pending Committee Action in Second House
  5. Jan 15, 2026SenateIntroduced
    Read for the first time and referred to the Senate Committee on Finance and Taxation Education
  6. Jan 15, 2026HouseFloor
    Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 13
  7. Jan 15, 2026House
    Third Reading in House of Origin
  8. Jan 14, 2026House
    Read for the Second Time and placed on the Calendar
  9. Jan 14, 2026HouseCommittee
    Reported Out of Committee House of Origin
  10. Jan 13, 2026HouseCommittee
    Pending Committee Action in House of Origin
  11. Jan 13, 2026HouseIntroduced
    Read for the first time and referred to the House Committee on Education Policy

Version history

Only one version on file - nothing to compare yet. As later stages (committee substitute, engrossed, enrolled) are captured, the redline appears here.

View official text →

Voting Record

Show 3 earlier roll calls
Outcome not reportedHouse1/15/2026Alabama LegislatureOfficial roll call ↗

Third Reading in House of Origin

Total

98

Yes
95
No
0
Present
0
Not voting
2
Abstain
1

How they voted (98)

74 more members
Andy WhittParty not recordedyes
Donna GivensParty not recordedyes
Jim CarnsParty not recordedyes
Neil RaffertyParty not recordedyes
TaShina MorrisParty not recordedyes
Ron BoltonParty not recordedyes
Ernie YarbroughParty not recordedyes
Curtis TravisParty not recordedyes
Juandalynn GivanParty not recordedyes
Shane StringerParty not recordedyes
Kenyatté HassellParty not recordedyes
Travis HendrixParty not recordedyes
Kelvin DatcherParty not recordedyes
Mark GidleyParty not recordedyes
Arnold MooneyParty not recordedyes
Bob FincherParty not recordedyes
Troy StubbsParty not recordedyes
David StandridgeParty not recordedyes
Ontario TillmanParty not recordedyes
Jennifer FidlerParty not recordedyes
Sam JonesParty not recordedyes
Jerry StarnesParty not recordedyes
Jamie KielParty not recordedyes
Heath AllbrightParty not recordedyes
Nathaniel LedbetterParty not recordedyes
Thomas JacksonParty not recordedyes
Craig LipscombParty not recordedyes
David FaulknerParty not recordedyes
Danny GarrettParty not recordedyes
Marilyn LandsParty not recordedabstain
Anthony DanielsParty not recordedyes
Bill LambParty not recordedyes
Pebblin WarrenParty not recordedyes
Tim WadsworthParty not recordedyes
Scott StadthagenParty not recordedyes
Chris SellsParty not recordedyes
Tracy EstesParty not recordedyes
Allen TreadawayParty not recordedyes
Chad RobertsonParty not recordedyes
Chip BrownParty not recordedyes
Ginny ShaverParty not recordedyes
Parker MooreParty not recordedyes
Ritchie WhortonParty not recordedyes
Barbara BoydParty not recordedyes
Phillip EnslerParty not recordedyes
Randy WoodParty not recordedyes
Corley EllisParty not recordedyes
Terri CollinsParty not recordedyes
Berry ForteParty not recordedyes
Jim HillParty not recordedyes
Ben HarrisonParty not recordedyes
Patrick SellersParty not recordedyes
Jeremy GrayParty not recordedyes
James LomaxParty not recordedyes
Adline ClarkeParty not recordedyes
Ben RobbinsParty not recordedyes
Rhett MarquesParty not recordedyes
Jeana RossParty not recordedyes
Greg BarnesParty not recordedyes
Danny CrawfordParty not recordedyes
Bryan BrinyarkParty not recordedyes
Marcus ParamoreParty not recordedyes
Margie WilcoxParty not recordedyes
Steve ClouseParty not recordedyes
Rick RehmParty not recordedyes
Chris EnglandParty not recordedyes
Mike ShawParty not recordedyes
Mark ShireyParty not recordedyes
Reed IngramParty not recordedyes
Jeff SorrellsParty not recordedyes
Russell BedsoleParty not recordedyes
Leigh HulseyParty not recordedyes
Susan DuBoseParty not recordedyes
Cindy MyrexParty not recordedyes
Outcome not reportedHouse1/15/2026Alabama LegislatureOfficial roll call ↗

Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 13

Total

98

Yes
95
No
0
Present
0
Not voting
3
Abstain
0

How they voted (98)

74 more members
Ginny ShaverParty not recordedyes
Brett EasterbrookParty not recordednot voting
Chris PringleParty not recordedyes
Adline ClarkeParty not recordedyes
Jeremy GrayParty not recordedyes
Donna GivensParty not recordedyes
Matt SimpsonParty not recordedyes
David FaulknerParty not recordedyes
Nathaniel LedbetterParty not recordedyes
Craig LipscombParty not recordedyes
Troy StubbsParty not recordedyes
Barbara BoydParty not recordedyes
Russell BedsoleParty not recordedyes
Scott StadthagenParty not recordedyes
Bob FincherParty not recordedyes
Terri CollinsParty not recordedyes
Susan DuBoseParty not recordedyes
Neil RaffertyParty not recordedyes
Marcus ParamoreParty not recordedyes
Greg BarnesParty not recordedyes
Ritchie WhortonParty not recordedyes
Chris BlackshearParty not recordedyes
Tim WadsworthParty not recordedyes
Margie WilcoxParty not recordedyes
Barbara DrummondParty not recordedyes
Mike KirklandParty not recordedyes
Napoleon BracyParty not recordedyes
Phillip EnslerParty not recordedyes
Alan BakerParty not recordednot voting
Arnold MooneyParty not recordedyes
Laura HallParty not recordedyes
Steve HurstParty not recordedyes
Jim CarnsParty not recordedyes
Ed OliverParty not recordedyes
Travis HendrixParty not recordedyes
Allen TreadawayParty not recordedyes
Chip BrownParty not recordedyes
Paul LeeParty not recordedyes
Ron BoltonParty not recordedyes
Phillip PettusParty not recordedyes
Juandalynn GivanParty not recordedyes
Kelvin LawrenceParty not recordedyes
Tracy EstesParty not recordedyes
Danny GarrettParty not recordedyes
Rick RehmParty not recordedyes
Rolanda HollisParty not recordedyes
Ben RobbinsParty not recordedyes
David StandridgeParty not recordedyes
Reed IngramParty not recordedyes
Berry ForteParty not recordedyes
Rex ReynoldsParty not recordedyes
Patrick SellersParty not recordedyes
Sam JonesParty not recordedyes
Bill LambParty not recordedyes
Pebblin WarrenParty not recordedyes
Curtis TravisParty not recordedyes
Ben HarrisonParty not recordedyes
Mark GidleyParty not recordedyes
Mark ShireyParty not recordedyes
Rhett MarquesParty not recordedyes
Jeff SorrellsParty not recordedyes
Bubba UnderwoodParty not recordedyes
Jim HillParty not recordedyes
Prince ChestnutParty not recordedyes
Randy WoodParty not recordedyes
TaShina MorrisParty not recordedyes
Jennifer FidlerParty not recordedyes
Matthew HammettParty not recordedyes
Mike ShawParty not recordedyes
Marilyn LandsParty not recordedyes
Thomas JacksonParty not recordedyes
Bryan BrinyarkParty not recordedyes
Frances Holk-JonesParty not recordedyes
Shane StringerParty not recordedyes

Lobbying Activity

No state lobbying filings in our records match this bill. Federal lobbying reports (LDA) cover Congress, so they are not listed on state bills.

Full breakdown

Who this bill affects and the strongest case for and against it, written only from the bill’s own text.

Sponsors

Connected Entities

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, Alabama Committee on Credentialing and Career Pathways, Council on Occupational Education and 2 more
OrganizationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges“Accrediting body for approved institutions of higher education.”Map →
OrganizationAlabama Committee on Credentialing and Career Pathways“Adopts eligible nonsectarian educational programs aligned with high-demand workf”Map →
OrganizationCouncil on Occupational Education“Accrediting body for approved institutions of higher education.”Map →
OrganizationReEngage Alabama Grant Program“State grant program providing financial awards to defray tuition and mandatory f”Map →
OrganizationAlabama Commission on Higher Education“Administers the ReEngage Alabama Grant Program and adopts eligibility rules.”Map →

Sources

Open source document

alison.legislature.state.al.us

Analysis Score

0–100
  • Significance50
    How much this matters to a regular citizen
  • Controversy10
    Intensity of disagreement among stakeholders
  • Entertainment5
    Compellingness for a non-policy-wonk reader
  • Buzz20
    Current news / social attention level

Publisher tools

Share or embed this record

POLISCOPE publisher tools

Share or embed this record