POLISCOPE
Back to bills

The civic record

Read. Follow. Verify.
Enacted

Mississippi Department of Health Authorized to Raise Food, Water, and Wastewater Fees Up to 33 Percent

Original title: Dept. of Health; authorize to increase fees by certain percentage during next three fiscal years.

Last action · March 2, 2026: 03/02 Approved by GovernorSponsor: Sam Creekmore

Introduced
Committee
Floor Vote
Passed
Law

Track this bill to get notified when it advances a stage. One tap to stop, anytime.

Public stanceCommunity reactions are separate from the official record and reporting.

What This Bill Does

House Bill 814 authorizes the State Department of Health to increase annual food establishment permit fees, private water supply approval fees, and onsite wastewater program fees up to three times between July 1, 2026, and June 30, 2029, with total increases capped at 33-1/3% of the fee amounts in effect at the time.

Why it matters

Food service businesses, private water supply operators, and septic system professionals face higher regulatory fees over the next three fiscal years, while public schools, state agencies, and qualifying honey producers remain exempt from specific permit charges.

Who It Affects

Groups the bill's text affects, as described in the record. Being affected is not a position for or against it.

Directly affected

Food Establishments

Food service businesses are subject to potential annual permit fee increases of up to 33-1/3% over a three-year window.

Directly affected

Onsite Wastewater System Installers and Pumpers

Wastewater professionals face potential certification and evaluation fee increases and must maintain required business liability insurance.

Directly affected

Public Schools and State Institutions

Public educational facilities and state agencies are explicitly exempt from food establishment permit fees and wastewater disposal fees.

Key Facts

You don't have to trust us. Each fact below is taken straight from the official document - click any one to see the exact passage, highlighted in the original.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which businesses or entities are exempt from the food establishment permit fee?
Food establishments operated by public schools, public junior and community colleges, state agencies or institutions (including higher learning and the State Penitentiary), and qualifying small-scale honey producers selling less than 500 gallons annually are exempt.
What is the maximum fee increase allowed under House Bill 814?
The total fee increase is capped at no more than thirty-three and one-third percent (33-1/3%) of the fee amount in effect at the time of the increase, spread across no more than three increases between July 1, 2026, and June 30, 2029.
Are homeowners who install their own septic systems required to be certified installers?
No. A person who installs an individual on-site wastewater disposal system on their own property for their primary residence is not considered an installer for certification purposes.

What else do you want to know?

News Coverage

No news coverage found yet. Articles are indexed twice daily.

Where This Stands

Current status: Signed into law.

Procedural history

12 actions
  1. Mar 2, 2026Governor of MississippiEnrolled
    03/02 Approved by Governor
  2. Feb 19, 2026SenateEnrolled
    02/19 (S) Enrolled Bill Signed
  3. Feb 19, 2026HouseEnrolled
    02/19 (H) Enrolled Bill Signed
  4. Feb 19, 2026Senate
    02/19 (S) Returned For Enrolling
  5. Feb 18, 2026SenateFloor
    02/18 (S) Passed
  6. Feb 17, 2026SenateCommittee
    02/17 (S) Title Suff Do Pass
Show 6 earlier actions
  1. Feb 17, 2026SenateCommittee
    02/17 (S) Referred To Public Health and Welfare
  2. Feb 13, 2026House
    02/13 (H) Transmitted To Senate
  3. Feb 12, 2026HouseFloor
    02/12 (H) Passed
  4. Feb 11, 2026House
    02/11 (H) Read the Third Time
  5. Feb 3, 2026HouseCommittee
    02/03 (H) Title Suff Do Pass
  6. Jan 16, 2026HouseCommittee
    01/16 (H) Referred To Public Health and Human Services

Version history

Only one version on file - nothing to compare yet. As later stages (committee substitute, engrossed, enrolled) are captured, the redline appears here.

View official text →

Voting Record

Outcome not reportedSenate2/18/2026Mississippi LegislatureOfficial roll call ↗

02/18 (S) Passed

Total

48

Yes
34
No
12
Present
2
Not voting
0
Abstain
0

How they voted (48)

24 more members
Show 1 earlier roll call
Outcome not reportedHouse2/12/2026Mississippi LegislatureOfficial roll call ↗

02/12 (H) Passed

Total

113

Yes
96
No
12
Present
0
Not voting
5
Abstain
0

How they voted (113)

89 more members
Carolyn CrawfordParty not recordedno
Keith JacksonParty not recordedyes
Mark TullosParty not recordedyes
Rickey ThompsonParty not recordedyes
Steve MassengillParty not recordedyes
Willie BaileyParty not recordedyes
Becky CurrieParty not recordedno
Justin CrosbyParty not recordedyes
Jay McKnightParty not recordedyes
Jeffrey HulumParty not recordedyes
Otis AnthonyParty not recordedyes
Larry ByrdParty not recordedyes
Lance VarnerParty not recordedyes
Otha WilliamsParty not recordedyes
Kevin FelsherParty not recordedyes
Andy BoydParty not recordedyes
Fred ShanksParty not recordedyes
Greg HaneyParty not recordedno
Sam CreekmoreParty not recordedyes
Oscar DentonParty not recordedyes
Ronnie CrudupParty not recordedyes
Rob RobersonParty not recordedyes
Bob EvansParty not recordednot voting
Doc HarrisParty not recordedyes
Jonathan McMillanParty not recordedyes
Earle BanksParty not recordedno
Justis GibbsParty not recordedyes
Lee YanceyParty not recordedyes
Donnie ScogginParty not recordedno
Bill PigottParty not recordedyes
Dan EubanksParty not recordedno
Tracy ArnoldParty not recordedno
Gregory ElliottParty not recordedyes
Hank ZuberParty not recordedyes
Jansen OwenParty not recordedyes
Elliot BurchParty not recordedyes
Rodney HallParty not recordedyes
Lataisha JacksonParty not recordedyes
Stacey Hobgood-WilkesParty not recordedno
Justin KeenParty not recordedyes
Chris BellParty not recordedyes
Daryl PorterParty not recordedyes
Timaka James-JonesParty not recordednot voting
Omeria ScottParty not recordedno
Kabir KarriemParty not recordedyes
Kimberly RemakParty not recordedyes
Joey HoodParty not recordedyes
Timmy LadnerParty not recordedyes
Jimmy FondrenParty not recordedyes
Kevin HoranParty not recordedyes
Fabian NelsonParty not recordedyes
Stephanie FosterParty not recordedyes
Dana McLeanParty not recordedyes
Brad MattoxParty not recordedyes
Jill FordParty not recordedyes
Greg HollowayParty not recordedyes
Bryant ClarkParty not recordedyes
Zack GradyParty not recordedyes
Casey EureParty not recordedyes
Perry BaileyParty not recordedyes
Karl OliverParty not recordedyes
Clay DeweeseParty not recordedyes
Percy WatsonParty not recordedyes
Troy SmithParty not recordedno
Robert JohnsonParty not recordedyes
Kenji HollowayParty not recordedyes
Billy Adam CalvertParty not recordedyes
Randy RushingParty not recordedyes
Richard BennettParty not recordedyes
Beth WaldoParty not recordedyes
Shanda YatesParty not recordedyes
Chuck BlackwellParty not recordedno
Jerry TurnerParty not recordedyes
Angela CockerhamParty not recordedyes
Jeffery HarnessParty not recordedyes
Cheikh TaylorParty not recordedyes
Shane AguirreParty not recordedyes
Brent PowellParty not recordedyes
Tracey RosebudParty not recordedyes
Trey LamarParty not recordedyes
Manly BartonParty not recordedyes
Noah SanfordParty not recordedyes
Lawrence BlackmonParty not recordedyes
Gene NewmanParty not recordedyes
Donnie BellParty not recordedyes
Bill KinkadeParty not recordedyes
Brent AndersonParty not recordedyes
Randy BoydParty not recordedyes
Solomon OsborneParty not recordedyes

Lobbying Activity

No state lobbying filings in our records match this bill. Federal lobbying reports (LDA) cover Congress, so they are not listed on state bills.

Full breakdown

Who this bill affects and the strongest case for and against it, written only from the bill’s own text.

Sponsors

Connected Entities

Food and Drug Administration, Department of Child Protection Services, State Department of Health and 1 more
OrganizationFood and Drug Administration“Maintains the model Food Code of 1995 referenced for food establishment assessme”Map →
OrganizationDepartment of Child Protection Services“Exempts foster homes from certain private water supply approval and wastewater f”Map →
OrganizationState Department of Health“Authorized to increase food establishment, private water supply, and onsite wast”Map →
OrganizationState Board of Health“Empowered to recommend fee increases and establish assessment categories.”Map →

Sources

Open source document

billstatus.ls.state.ms.us

Analysis Score

0–100
  • Significance55
    How much this matters to a regular citizen
  • Controversy20
    Intensity of disagreement among stakeholders
  • Entertainment5
    Compellingness for a non-policy-wonk reader
  • Buzz15
    Current news / social attention level

Publisher tools

Share or embed this record

POLISCOPE publisher tools

Share or embed this record